Chris in China

Blogging from Baoding

Stuck in Sihanoukville

Posted by chris g on February 12, 2008

On a peninsula on Cambodia’s south-western coast is the town of Sihanoukville, a conglomeration of three towns really, Victory Hill, Serendipity Beach and the Downtown Sihanoukville area. I arrived at the Downtown bus station on Friday night, the night of the Lunar New Year, around 7:30. The five hour journey from Cambodia’s capital,Phnom Penh, saw vast tan fields, tiny stilt-house villages and more than a handful of those full-bodied white cows roaming randomly.

It was dark. After picking up my pack, I busted through the throngs of tuk-tuk drivers to a nearby phone stand to make some calls to various guest houses around town. All were booked. So I walked around the downtown area, where firecrackers popped and trucks full of people sped by, apparently this was a celebration, but I was not in the mood to celebrate. I was tired and I wanted to find a place to sleep.

I searched everywhere, but could not find a thing. Every moto driver and tuk-tuk operator assured me that there were no vacancies in town, and I should have believed them. Finally, after nearly two hours of looking, I found a moto driver and asked him to find me a place, anywhere. He took me to Victory Hill, and after going to a few places we found a guest house with only one room left, for $20!

Damn, that blew my $20 per day budget very fast…but I had no choice.

Later, I bought the driver a beer for helping me out.

The next day I found another place that had a room for $5 per night, and that’s where I’ve been since. But also, on that same day, I started to get sick. First it was a stomach thing, I’ll spare the details, but after two days it became a full-blown fever and headache. Now, I’m still sick and I don’t want to chance a long day of travel in this condition. Hopefully by tomorrow I’ll be well enough to move on. Four days of sitting around in misery certainly put a wrench in my plans, part of which was to volunteer at an orphanage in Takeo, a small town to the south-east of Sihanoukville. But Cambodia feels good, I’ll surely return.

-chris

ps: I found an interesting website with good travel writing. Read this one.

2 Responses to “Stuck in Sihanoukville”

  1. Cher Jeux, I’m so happy to hear your enjoying your trip, except for your being sick of course. Let’s hope that today is the day you will feel 100%…drink plenty of fluids. Love u…Mom

  2. Paul Harsch said

    Hi Chris,

    I have enjoyed very much, reading your articles as printed in the Advocate. They are interesting and written with heart and humility. Good for you! I applaud your courage for going to that part of the world and doing your best to understand and empathize. You have a good writing style and provide meaningful observations about human nature.

    Keep up the good work, on all levels,

    Paul Harsch,
    Williamstown, MA

Leave a comment